USF Research News

University of South Florida and National Academy of Inventors announce USF's NAI Charter Fellows

January 4, 2013

Five USF faculty members named to high honor

By Judy Lowry
USF Research News

TAMPA, Fla. – Five faculty members from the University of South Florida have been named as Charter Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI): Richard D. Gitlin, D. Yogi Goswami, Barbara C. Hansen, Shyam Mohapatra, and Paul R. Sanberg.

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

The 101 innovators elected to NAI Fellow status represent 56 prestigious universities and non-profit research institutes. Collectively, they hold more than 3,200 U.S. patents.

Included in the Charter class are eight Nobel Laureates, two Fellows of the Royal Society, 14 presidents of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 53 members of the National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine), 11 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, five recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, four recipients of the National Medal of Science, and 31 AAAS Fellows, among other major awards and distinctions.

"The University of South Florida is very proud to have five distinguished faculty members among the exceptional innovators being honored by the National Academy of Inventors," said Judy Genshaft, President of the University of South Florida System. "The accomplishments of our faculty continue to propel USF into the top tier of research universities nationwide."

NAI Charter Fellows from the University of South Florida

  • Richard D. Gitlin, Sc.D., Distinguished University Professor of Electrical Engineering
  • D. Yogi Goswami, Ph.D., P.E., Distinguished University Professor of Engineering and Co-Director of the Clean Energy Research Center
  • Barbara C. Hansen, Ph.D., Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics and Director of the Center for Preclinical Research
  • Shyam Mohapatra, Ph.D., Distinguished Health Professor, Vice Chair for Research in Internal Medicine and Director of the Division of Translational Medicine, USF Nanomedicine Research Center
  • Paul R. Sanberg, Ph.D., D.Sc., Vice President for Research & Innovation, Distinguished University Professor, Executive Director of the Center of Excellence for Aging and Brain Repair, and Vice Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery in the Morsani College of Medicine

Richard D. Gitlin

D. Yogi Goswami

Barbara C. Hansen

Shyam Mohapatra

Paul R. Sanberg

USF's NAI Charter Fellows are featured on the university's Faculty Honors, Prizes and Awards website.

The NAI Charter Fellows will be inducted as Fellows by the U.S. Commissioner for Patents, Margaret A. Focarino, from the United States Patent and Trademark Office, during the 2nd Annual Conference of the National Academy of Inventors, on Feb. 22, 2013, in Tampa, Fla., at the Embassy Suites Hotel in the University of South Florida Research Park. Fellows will be presented with a special trophy and a rosette pin.

The NAI Charter Fellows will be recognized with a full page announcement in The Chronicle of Higher Education on Jan. 18, 2013, in the Jan. 2013 issue of Inventors Digest, and in a future issue of Technology and Innovation – Proceedings of the National Academy of Inventors.

The academic inventors and innovators elected to the rank of NAI Charter Fellow are named inventors on U.S. patents and were nominated for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society, and support and enhancement of innovation.

The NAI Fellows Selection Committee was comprised of recipients of National Medals, a National Inventors Hall of Fame inductee, 14 members from the National Academies, senior officials from the USPTO, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the Association of University Technology Managers (AUTM), and the United Inventors Association, and leaders from several research universities.

The NAI was founded at the University of South Florida and is headquartered in the USF Research Park.

A full list of the 2012 NAI Charter Fellows is here:

Judy Lowry can be reached at

# # #

The National Academy of Inventors® is a 501c3 non-profit organization comprised of more than 45 U.S. and international universities and non-profit research institutes, with over 2,000 individual academic inventor members, and growing rapidly. It was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with a patent issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society. The NAI publishes a newsletter and edits the multidisciplinary journal, Technology and Innovation – Proceedings of the National Academy of Inventors, published by Cognizant Communication Corporation (NY).