USF Research News

USF’s Valerie Landrio McDevitt Wins BioFlorida Leadership Award

Thursday, October 18, 2018

TAMPA, Fla. – Valerie Landrio McDevitt, the University of South Florida's associate vice president for technology transfer & business partnerships, was awarded the Leadership Award by BioFlorida, a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting Florida's increasing role in the local and national biotechnology industry.

The BioFlorida Leadership Award is designated for a BioFlorida volunteer who has taken on a leadership role, dedicated significant time to the mission, and has served as a true ambassador for the organization. McDevitt, elected Chairman of the Board for BioFlorida in 2016, was recognized at the 2018 BioFlorida Annual Conference for her vision and passion for growing the life sciences industry in Tampa and throughout the state.

Valerie Landrio McDevittValerie Landrio McDevitt

"We are honored to recognize Valerie's extraordinary contributions to the life sciences community in Florida,” said Nancy K. Bryan, President and CEO of BioFlorida. “Valerie embodies BioFlorida's mission to advance high-tech innovation and has used her leadership skills to take an active role in supporting life sciences growth throughout the state."

"I am extremely honored to receive this prestigious award by BioFlorida," said McDevitt. "I believe in the initiatives of this organization to provide a strong business climate for the advancement of innovative products and technology that improve lives and promote economic benefits to the state, and my work with BioFlorida for the past several years has been truly rewarding."

McDevitt, who has been at USF for more than 17 years, is responsible for the university's startup incubation program which includes the Tampa Bay Technology Incubator and Student Innovation Incubator. In her tenure at USF, the technology transfer program has consistently been ranked as one of the nation's best in such key measures as the number of new U.S. patents earned and licenses executed. USF's incubation program has served more than 70 companies in the past year, with half of those companies in the biosciences.

McDevitt, a U.S. registered patent attorney, is involved in many local and national organizations that also support emerging innovators, including TiE Tampa Bay, the American Chemical Society’s Committee on Chemistry and Public Affairs, Committee on Chemistry and Public Affairs (Member) and Chemistry and the Law Division (Executive Committee). Other memberships for McDevitt include the Tampa Bay Technology Forum (Board Member), Mote Environmental Services, Inc. (Board Member), BioFlorida (Chairman and Board Member), Licensing Executive Society, USF Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors, Florida Association of Women Lawyers, Association of University Technology Managers, and the Florida Research Consortium (Executive Committee). She also served on the Task Force for the study of Biotech Competitiveness and the Council on Governmental Relations Contracts and IP Committee.

About BioFlorida
BioFlorida is the voice of Florida’s life sciences industry, representing 6,200 establishments and research organizations in the biopharmaceuticals, medical technology, healthIT and bioagriculture sectors that collectively employ 87,000 Floridians.

About the University of South Florida
The University of South Florida, established in 1956 and located in Tampa, is a high-impact global research university dedicated to student success. The USF System includes three separately accredited institutions: USF, USF St. Petersburg and USF Sarasota-Manatee. Serving more than 50,000 students, the USF System has an annual budget of $1.8 billion and an annual economic impact of $4.4 billion. USF ranks in the top 30 nationally for research expenditures among public universities, according to the National Science Foundation. In 2018, the Florida Board of Governors designated USF as a Preeminent State Research University, placing USF in the most elite category among the state’s 12 public universities. USF is a member of the American Athletic Conference.